Home » Audio » Thermionic Emissions » ECC 82 recommendation | Telefunken vs Mazda Belvu  () 1 Vote
Re: ECC 82 recommendation | Telefunken vs Mazda Belvu [message #94904 is a reply to message #94856] Sun, 12 December 2021 00:52 Go to previous messageGo to previous message
positron is currently offline  positron
Viscount
Hello Kasper, Bruce, and other Gentlemen,

I hope to provide a general reply to the subject at hand, and some personal information as others may not know me.

As an introduction, I have been doing R&D for some 40+ years developing an audio system in my lab as well as selling my products. Been retired for some 10 years.

With this setup, I am hoping my research results will help those in their quest for higher quality reproduction from their system(s). Some experimental listening test procedures are confidential since I developed them. I also perform multiple types of listening tests and compare the results for any discrepancies. Although measurements have some value, listening testing is the final test of course.

When designing my own components decades ago, it took months, even years, before the listening testing was completed and I was comfortable with the results.

I realize that most, if not nearly all, will not be able to conduct the same experiments or make the same system adjustments to their audio systems. However, some suggestions will be applicable if one is able to get at parts, including crossovers etc.

I am at somewhat of an advantage in that I have built my entire audio system from scratch, except for the source, which includes the dac, which I have significantly upgraded/modified. The phono, line preamplifier, interconnects, monoblock amps, speaker wires, and speakers are all my own designs.

No copying here. I have used many and different types of speakers, up to $28,000, and preferred to design my own due to accessibility problems in speakers parts/adjustments.