Home » Audio » Craftsmen » Sears Craftsman Tool Quality?
Sears Craftsman Tool Quality? [message #29545] Thu, 07 July 2005 14:29 Go to next message
GarMan is currently offline  GarMan
Illuminati (2nd Degree)
I have no experience with Sears Craftsman and would like to know how they compare quality-wise with other national brands. I'm looking to get a portable table/bench saw this month and the brands that I have experience with (Dewalt, PorterCable, Bosch) are all out of my price range.

I've narrowed by choices down to three models, all similar in price and spec: 10" saw with stand and table extensions from Skil, Delta, and Craftsman. There's a $50 spread between the cheapest (Skil) and most expensive (Craftsman). Any thoughts or recommendations on these brands would be appreciated.

Gar.

Re: Sears Craftsman Tool Quality? [message #29546 is a reply to message #29545] Thu, 07 July 2005 14:48 Go to previous messageGo to next message
BillEpstein is currently offline  BillEpstein
Illuminati (2nd Degree)
Which models? The smallest Skil is not bad at all for 100 bucks.
What really counts with all these little saws is the fence. Go to each dealer and move the fences around and then measure from the fence to the front and then the rear of the blade. Repeat and repeat to check the adjustability.
My Ryobi=on-wheels has an amazingly good fence. As do all the Ryobi's except the hundred buck one.
The other biggie is whether it will turn a full thick (1/8") blade in maple or more importantly, a 3/4" dado blade in MDF. And it needn't do that all day long.

Model Numbers [message #29547 is a reply to message #29546] Thu, 07 July 2005 15:12 Go to previous messageGo to next message
Illuminati (2nd Degree)
Here are the models:

Craftsman 10 in. Table Saw with Dust Collection System and Casters
Mfr. model #24883
http://www.sears.com/sr/javasr/product.do?BV_UseBVCookie=Yes&vertical=TOOL&pid=00924883000&subcat=Table+Saws

Delta Tools 10 in. Table Saw with Stand
Mfr. model #TS220LS