Home » Audio » Home Theater » PVR hard disk recorders
PVR hard disk recorders [message #28792] Sun, 25 January 2004 08:38 Go to next message
Wayne Parham is currently offline  Wayne Parham
Illuminati (33rd Degree)
Anybody have a PVR hard disk recorder?

What are your impressions?

Re: PVR hard disk recorders [message #28793 is a reply to message #28792] Mon, 26 January 2004 11:48 Go to previous messageGo to next message
footsurg is currently offline  footsurg
Chancellor
Wayne,

I have had extensive experience with 2 PVR's. The Panasonic DMR-E80H and the Panasonic DMR-E100H. I have to say that both machines are excellent in doing what they were designed to do. The E80 had an 80 gig HD and like the E100 is a progressive scan unit. The E100 has 120 gigs of HD space (enough for 55 hours in SP mode)and most important has a digital input for transfering digital video shot with a DV camcorder. This is a crucial feature. On the units like the E80 that lack this functionality, one has to input video through the composite inputs. This results in the digital video having to be changed to analog, imported and then having to be redigitized with noticable loss.