Home » Audio » Pro Sound » Recording on to PC?
Recording on to PC? [message #27428] Sun, 06 May 2007 09:55 Go to next message
eatli is currently offline  eatli
Chancellor
I'm new to playing the guitar, but I'd like to eventually record my own music (well, me playing other peoples songs ). How difficult is it to hook up an electric guitar to the PC? I have a Creative soundcard with a bay that has a variety of inputs - is it as simple as connecting the amp to the analogue input and recording it?

Can anyone recommend some software for editing too please?

Re: Recording on to PC? [message #27429 is a reply to message #27428] Wed, 09 May 2007 09:17 Go to previous messageGo to next message
Ricardo is currently offline  Ricardo
Viscount
I'm not familiar with that soundcard, but I think it would work, at least to get started. I have a Delta 66 card with an M Audio Omni I/O system, which I like.

I record audio and MIDI using Cubase SX, which is an older version. It came with some very useful virtual effects for guitar and mixing in general.

Re: Recording on to PC? [message #27459 is a reply to message #27429] Mon, 27 August 2007 19:10 Go to previous messageGo to next message
carolsuz is currently offline  carolsuz
Esquire
Is Midi the only way to record on the pc ? I play Bass and was thinking of getting a line 6 bass pod and Pro Tools to record directly to the computer . Is there a simple way to do this ? I'd also like to do some guitar stuff but haven't made up my mind on what processor or whatever to use . Any help would be appreciated .

Re: Recording on to PC? [message #27492 is a reply to message #27459] Sat, 13 October 2007 10:40 Go to previous message
willyable is currently offline  willyable
Viscount