Home » Audio » Source » Tonearm Balancing Problems
Tonearm Balancing Problems [message #13339] Wed, 04 April 2007 17:22 Go to next message
jason is currently offline  jason
Chancellor
First off, I'll readily admit that I'm a newbie to turntables, but I'm eager to learn and get into the thick of things. I recently bought an Audio-Technica AT-PL120 turntable via Amazon. I've been trying to set it up, and when calibrating and balancing the tonearm, I've noticed that the tonearm will not remain steady over to the platter, but consistently swings outwardly back to the tonearm lock. It does this even with anti-skate set to 0. I have checked the leveling of the turntable, but that does not appear to be the issue. Does anyone know what might be the issue here?

Re: Tonearm Balancing Problems [message #13340 is a reply to message #13339] Thu, 05 April 2007 12:15 Go to previous messageGo to next message
jason is currently offline  jason
Chancellor
After perusing the manual again, I found a "Quick Start" guide in the box that had a few discrepancies in regards to describing how to attach the counterweight on the back of the tonearm. So this time I followed the Quick Start guide, and realized that I had put the counterweight and gauge on backwards, which is the reason it wasn't working right...kinda makes me feel like an idiot =/ Anyway, I got it working fine now. Although I am still troubled by the fact that the cartridge requires so much tracking force (as stated in the specifications for 3.5g) - I think it is probably designed for more of a DJ application, but should I be worried that using this for casual listening will diminish the lifespan of my records?

Re: Tonearm Balancing Problems [message #13341 is a reply to message #13340] Sat, 07 April 2007 01:49 Go to previous messageGo to next message
Coda1108 is currently offline  Coda1108
Esquire