Home » Audio » Craftsmen » Are you a self-taught craftsman?
Are you a self-taught craftsman? [message #87485] Tue, 20 March 2018 20:41 Go to next message
Wren is currently offline  Wren
Chancellor
I would really like to try and get into doing some audio DIY projects. I'm wondering if I need to take some kind of class before diving right in. Is this something you can teach yourself, learn via YouTube, etc.? Or is it better to have someone help you during your first project(s)?

Speaking of first projects, what was yours?
Re: Are you a self-taught craftsman? [message #87496 is a reply to message #87485] Wed, 21 March 2018 17:41 Go to previous messageGo to next message
gofar99 is currently offline  gofar99
Illuminati (5th Degree)
Hi, Self taught....mostly by trial and error. The first project was a one transistor amp. It went up in smoke. How was I supposed to know which lead went where? Since then there have been many projects up to and including building an addition on the house for a listening room. All sorts of electronics as well. I would suggest that the best way to learn is from/with someone who knows what they are doing. Study a bit, try something with that person's guidance. It will be a lot easier to ask specific questions than to read an entire reference and not understand what it really means.

Good Listening
Bruce
Re: Are you a self-taught craftsman? [message #87498 is a reply to message #87485] Thu, 22 March 2018 12:13 Go to previous messageGo to next message
Ouroboros is currently offline  Ouroboros
Chancellor
I completely agree with the above. I'm just starting this myself. First, I tried buying a reference book and could barely understand it. I don't have a firm enough grasp of the basics. My friend's dad has a lot of experience and has agreed to help me out. Being able to ask him specific questions has been helping a lot.