Home » Sponsored » Pi Speakers » What to use to power/EQ a 4.2 theater?
What to use to power/EQ a 4.2 theater? [message #80778] Sun, 02 November 2014 18:10 Go to next message
j0nnyfive is currently offline  j0nnyfive
Baron
Hello all,

I am planning a 4.2 home theater using upgraded 4 Pi for mains, 2 Pi for surrounds, and possibly Mach5 UXL-18 (or something similar) for flanking subs.

I'm not certain the best route to take to process/power all this. Any suggestions? (I am not very experienced in this area)

Does Audyssey make any significant difference with Pi speakers?

I remember reading Geddes suggest not applying EQ to the mains, but only to the subs and powering his mains with an inexpensive Pioneer receiver.

What are you guys doing for your home theaters? Thanks!

More specifically, what are you using to power your 4 Pi mains and your 2 Pi surrounds? (Or 1 Pi, or cornerhorns...)
Re: What to use to power/EQ a 4.2 theater? [message #80779 is a reply to message #80778] Sun, 02 November 2014 22:29 Go to previous messageGo to next message
Wayne Parham is currently offline  Wayne Parham
Illuminati (33rd Degree)

I agree about letting the mains run full-range, and even using the L/R signals to drive the low-pass and amps for the respective flanking subs.

There are lots of great choices out there for amps. I've run everything from flea-power SET amps to arc-welder prosound amps. I have settled on mid-power SET amps for the mains, and single-ended FET amps for the subs. Same thing for surrounds.

Re: What to use to power/EQ a 4.2 theater? [message #80785 is a reply to message #80779] Mon, 03 November 2014 20:27 Go to previous messageGo to next message
Baron
Cool! What are you using to process your movie sound? A receiver with pre-outs? A blu-ray player with pre-outs? A pre-pro? A PC? (I'm not even sure how all this works)

Also, are you running a 4.2 system?

The extent of my experience = (Blu-ray player -> AVR -> speaker)