Home » Audio » General » Replacing a car stereo -- DIY or go pro?
Replacing a car stereo -- DIY or go pro? [message #80454] Thu, 11 September 2014 18:41 Go to next message
iLoveiPod is currently offline  iLoveiPod
Master
How hard is it to replace a car stereo? I have never done this before so I don't know if I should try to tackle it myself or if I should save it for the professionals.
Re: Replacing a car stereo -- DIY or go pro? [message #80467 is a reply to message #80454] Fri, 12 September 2014 16:53 Go to previous messageGo to next message
Lizard is currently offline  Lizard
Chancellor
I have never done it myself, either. I have never tried to learn. I usually just save it for the professionals, but if you have the patience to learn to do it on your own, then I say go for it.
Re: Replacing a car stereo -- DIY or go pro? [message #80470 is a reply to message #80454] Fri, 12 September 2014 22:01 Go to previous messageGo to next message
iLoveiPod is currently offline  iLoveiPod
Master
I just wonder how much prior knowledge of electrical wiring is needed to keep the job from being a major pain in the rear! I also wonder if my stereo is one of those that you would have to pull the entire dash off to mess with. If it's one of those cases where you have to take the car halfway apart to do anything, I'd probably be better off to just pay someone else to do it...
Re: Replacing a car stereo -- DIY or go pro? [message #80497 is a reply to message #80470] Tue, 16 September 2014 14:54 Go to previous messageGo to next message
Shane is currently offline  Shane
Illuminati (3rd Degree)
Depends on the car, but I've always bought my new head units from Crutchfield and got the install kits with it. Pretty simple in all of my cases and they come with the plug adapters to plug directly into the factory wiring.
Re: Replacing a car stereo -- DIY or go pro? [message #80580 is a reply to message #80454] Sat, 27 September 2014 05:16 Go to previous messageGo to next message