Home » Audio » Pro Sound » Recording Electric Guitar Music on My Computer
Recording Electric Guitar Music on My Computer [message #75088] Sat, 29 December 2012 18:40 Go to next message
Sonicsound is currently offline  Sonicsound
Baron
I have an electric guitar, and for the longest I have been trying to figure out a way where what I play on the guitar can be recorded on computer. I'm using Audacity as my sound software. I'm new at this, and I would appreciate a little help. Smile
Re: Recording Electric Guitar Music on My Computer [message #75110 is a reply to message #75088] Mon, 31 December 2012 20:29 Go to previous messageGo to next message
Shane is currently offline  Shane
Illuminati (3rd Degree)
Google is your friend Smile Lots and lots of info out there about this.

Audacity works great. You just need an interface to hook you guitar to your computer, if you are wanting to record direct. Getting something like this: http://www.guitarcenter.com/Line-6-POD-Studio-GX-with-POD-Farm-105148589-i1427099.gc

Which also included PodFarm, a decent effects package you can tweak on the computer. I basically used a Line 6 multieffect unit the same way this works. Look for a used one for 1/2 the price.

If you're wanting the mic your cabinet then you'll need something similar just with a mic in.
Re: Recording Electric Guitar Music on My Computer [message #75131 is a reply to message #75088] Tue, 01 January 2013 18:33 Go to previous messageGo to next message
Baron
So, just so that I make sure I understand because I can be a bit daft in regards to equipment and wires and the like, all I would need to do is install files, hook it up to my laptop, and then hook up my electric guitar to this little box?

Is there no way to directly hook it up into my laptop to record it directly, using an adapter that converts the big bulky amp plug into the small headphones plug?