Home » Audio » Thermionic Emissions » Presonus BlueTube DP tube options
Presonus BlueTube DP tube options [message #9971] Wed, 11 July 2007 06:10 Go to next message
Mark Sinkhorn is currently offline  Mark Sinkhorn
Esquire
Hi,

I'm brand new to the RoundTable.

I have a Presonus BlueTube DP mic preamp that uses a 12AX7 in a dual channel configuration. There's nothing "wrong" with the unit. The existing tube doesn't have any visible markings, so I'm not sure about the OEM brand.

I wanted to try some different tubes to fine tune the sound and perhaps derive a little more gain. I'm looking for a smooth, not gritty/grainy, warm sound since I will be using this exclusively as a mic pre for a pair of AT 3035s. The unit has a 16V power supply and I assume that the tube is powered at that voltage (which would affect the choice of tube?). I'm looking for some suggestions, including using a slightly different tube - 12AU7, etc.

I have done business with BOI Audioworks before and have been very happy with the experience. I say this because I expect to buy from them and get matched triode tubes for consistency between the two channels.

Thanks to all for your help and suggestions.

Tube rolling 12AX7 and 12AU7 [message #9972 is a reply to message #9971] Wed, 11 July 2007 21:34 Go to previous messageGo to next message
Wayne Parham is currently offline  Wayne Parham
Illuminati (33rd Degree)

I was going to suggest Aki at BOI Audioworks but I see you already know about him. I'd also suggest that Shane and Mark (footsurg) have a lot of experience "tube rolling". Steve Brown and Bill Epstein might also chime in, as I think thess may be tubes they've played with. They aren't in any of my gear, so hopefully one or more of those other guys will chime in.

Re: Presonus BlueTube DP tube options [message #9973 is a reply to message #9971] Fri, 13 July 2007 21:51 Go to previous messageGo to next message
Shane is currently offline  Shane
Illuminati (3rd Degree)