Home » Audio » Craftsmen » Taking a class to learn these skills
Taking a class to learn these skills [message #71640] Fri, 02 March 2012 15:04 Go to next message
Damon73 is currently offline  Damon73
Baron
I have to confess that I'm not very good with tools, but I think I would like to improve that someday. Do community colleges offer classes on things like soldering?
Re: Taking a class to learn these skills [message #71710 is a reply to message #71640] Fri, 09 March 2012 17:34 Go to previous messageGo to next message
SteveBrown is currently offline  SteveBrown
Grand Master
I'm guessing it depends a lot on the community college. I remember taking some basic electricity courses when I was a kid at a local CC that did, in fact, teach those skills. On the other hand, you may want to see if someone (a hi-fi DIY type) in your area might be willing to mentor you on this. Personally, I'm in Portland, OR and would be happy to help if you're local to me.
Re: Taking a class to learn these skills [message #71809 is a reply to message #71640] Sat, 17 March 2012 00:46 Go to previous messageGo to next message
jammin_nmy_livinroom is currently offline  jammin_nmy_livinroom
Chancellor
I don't know about the community colleges that are in your community, but we have one in the city that I live in and yes, they do offer practical tool-use classes. I think that varies widely from college to college, though. However, if you can't find a class you need at the local college, you can always try Home Depot - they have Saturday workshops all the time. As a last resort, you can always look up a how-to video online.
Re: Taking a class to learn these skills [message #72155 is a reply to message #71640] Sun, 15 April 2012 15:55 Go to previous messageGo to next message
LoveJB is currently offline  LoveJB
Master
I don't think there are classes on soldering at colleges. Then again there may be if it's a technical school. You can Google Soldering classes and see what comes up.