Home » Audio » Speaker » Line Array Assistance (I want to build my 1st line array)
Line Array Assistance [message #68824] Wed, 03 August 2011 06:37 Go to next message
rb132333 is currently offline  rb132333
Esquire
I am new to speaker building and had some questions concerning line arrays. One of the many HUGE benefits of the internet are forums like this and all of the available knowledge and information. Having said that, the amount of knowledge/opinion
can make your head spin. Let's get to some of my questions. There seems to be three basic approaches to line arrays; a line of quality mid/woofers mated with a line of ribbon tweeters (Zalytron; GR research), a line of full range drivers usually mated with a single tweeter (Audio Fred) or a line of full range drivers (Murphy array; Audience). Can anyone offer an opinion to which approach they prefer and why? That leads me to my
2nd question, why a single tweeter as opposed to a line of tweeters? My design goals would be sound stage and accuracy (maybe that is everyone's?). Any help that you can provide would be appreciated.
Re: Line Array Assistance [message #68862 is a reply to message #68824] Sat, 06 August 2011 07:20 Go to previous messageGo to next message
AudioFred is currently offline  AudioFred
Illuminati (1st Degree)
My preference by far is for a two-way array of woofers with a line of ribbon or planar tweeters. Few speakers can match the scale and dynamic capability of a line array using high quality woofers and tweeters. Unfortunately, a line array using high quality woofers and ribbbons or planars will set you back about $3K or more if you DIY. Also, the crossover design can be unforgiving with a line array, and simple formulae don't seem to work so well, so you need a competent crossover designed for that speaker.