Home » Audio » Thermionic Emissions » rectifier controversy
rectifier controversy [message #8388] Wed, 04 August 2004 02:28 Go to next message
Manualblock is currently offline  Manualblock
Illuminati (13th Degree)
Hi Eric; Reading through some past issues of V.T.V. I see that you sometimes favor tube rectification,("Because tube rectifiers add more magic and 3d realism to the music than cheap silicon diodes"), I am still studying up on pre-amp schematics for my project to replace the AES. Any clarification. Is the tube vs. SS application contingent on design? or do we want tube rectification as a given. You even give the nod to Tube rectifiers over HEXFREDS later in the essay. So what gives?

NIce discussion of this in the SET forum [message #8389 is a reply to message #8388] Wed, 04 August 2004 06:55 Go to previous messageGo to next message
akhilesh is currently offline  akhilesh
Illuminati (3rd Degree)
HI John,
There is a good discussion of this in the SET forum also, under the thread: review of ASUSA amp. FYI
thanx
-akhilesh

Re: NIce discussion of this in the SET forum [message #8390 is a reply to message #8389] Wed, 04 August 2004 07:57 Go to previous messageGo to next message
Illuminati (13th Degree)
Thanks AK, let me check that out.

Re: rectifier controversy [message #8391 is a reply to message #8388] Wed, 04 August 2004 10:16 Go to previous messageGo to next message
elektratig is currently offline  elektratig
Grand Master
FWIW, Ron Welborne has a discussion of the advantages and disadvantages of tube vs. ss rectification in the context of his drd amps at http://www.welbornelabs.com/drd.htm (under the heading "The Sound", about 4/5 of the way down the page) and surprisingly comes down on the side of ss for that design.

I'd also note that the Foreplay uses ss, and with a snubber added I haven't seen posts complaining that that aspect of the design limits its musicality.

On the other hand, my Welborne Laurels use tube rectification and sound glorious!