Home » Audio » Group Build » Sound Boxes - Calculating Dimensions (How do we calculate the dimensions of a sound box?)
Sound Boxes - Calculating Dimensions [message #64110] Sun, 26 September 2010 20:17 Go to next message
jazzlover is currently offline  jazzlover
Baron
I'm a newbie and I have an honest-to-goodness question. Given a certain speaker size, there's got to be a corresponding size for the box, right? Is there a method for calculating the proper dimensions of a sound box? All I know is that the bigger the speaker, the bigger the box. Anything beyond that is a haze Smile

Again since I'm new, I still get lost in many of the jargons in this site. Hope you can share what you know in plain language Smile
Re: Sound Boxes - Calculating Dimensions [message #64112 is a reply to message #64110] Sun, 26 September 2010 20:37 Go to previous messageGo to next message
Wayne Parham is currently offline  Wayne Parham
Illuminati (33rd Degree)

There are a variety of cabinet types, each using different acoustic mechanisms. Four of the most common are listed below:
Click on each link and study the threads returned. There is plenty of information in the archives on AudioRoundTable.com, but you have to dig through them and soak up the material. Loudspeakers are very simple machines, but you will need to know some basic physics to understand them.

Re: Sound Boxes - Calculating Dimensions [message #64121 is a reply to message #64112] Mon, 27 September 2010 20:48 Go to previous messageGo to next message
jazzlover is currently offline  jazzlover
Baron
Thanks Wayne! I'm bookmarking the links to read later. Those are free lessons indeed. I'll get back to post more questions if you don't mind Smile
Re: Sound Boxes - Calculating Dimensions [message #64790 is a reply to message #64110] Sun, 21 November 2010 16:43 Go to previous messageGo to next message
AudioFred is currently offline  AudioFred
Illuminati (1st Degree)