Home » Audio » Room Acoustics » Blocking Sound Out of a Room
Blocking Sound Out of a Room [message #62521] Wed, 05 May 2010 13:08 Go to next message
CountryFried
Chancellor
I work from home as a customer service agent. My job requires that I have no background noise. What material would be good to put over the inside of the window right by my desk to help block outside noise from coming in?

~CountryFried~
Re: Blocking Sound Out of a Room [message #62522 is a reply to message #62521] Wed, 05 May 2010 13:33 Go to previous messageGo to next message
Wayne Parham is currently offline  Wayne Parham
Illuminati (33rd Degree)

You could use foam wedges or a foam pad, perhaps cut to fit in the window sill. Another approach is to use a padded movers blanket, which could possibly be hung like drapes.
Re: Blocking Sound Out of a Room [message #62945 is a reply to message #62521] Fri, 28 May 2010 21:43 Go to previous messageGo to next message
Mavare
Baron
You could also try the foam insulation sheets. You could use it while you are on the job and then take it down so you could see out of the window. A sheet of it doesn't cost much at a DIY store and you should be able to cut it to fit the window.
Re: Blocking Sound Out of a Room [message #63037 is a reply to message #62521] Wed, 02 June 2010 17:05 Go to previous messageGo to next message
DaBase is currently offline  DaBase
Baron
You could probably check with a music store to see if they sell sound proofing panels for your walls. If they do they you can buy those and place them over your windows and walls.
Re: Blocking Sound Out of a Room [message #63095 is a reply to message #62521] Tue, 08 June 2010 04:19 Go to previous messageGo to next message
musiclover is currently offline  musiclover
Esquire
Sounds proofing panels are probably the best and most affordable way to make sure that noise does not enter from outside through your windows. I advise you go to a music or even furniture store and ask if they have these available.