Home » Audio » Pro Sound » Price ranges
Re: Price ranges [message #62218 is a reply to message #62216] Mon, 29 March 2010 22:38 Go to previous messageGo to previous message
Thermionic is currently offline  Thermionic
Master
Wayne Parham wrote on Mon, 29 March 2010 11:47

Wow, excellent, interesting information. Thanks!

You're welcome! I've been playing guitar for around 30 years, and servicing guitar amps for a bit over 25. I also build custom, made-to-order guitar amps designed to a customer's specific tonal preferences. So, it would be a cryin' shame if I hadn't learned at least a little bit of Fender history by now, LOL!

I knew the 1960's Twin Reverbs and the like were the cat's meow for musician friends of mine.

Blackface Twins are THE vintage amp for clean country and blues tones, as well as certain clean jazz tones. They also have an incredible tone for funky, jangly chords played on a Strat with the pickup selector set to position 4. Actually, pretty much anything you play on a Strat or Tele into a blackface twin is gonna sound good, as long as it's a clean (not overdriven) sound you're looking for. Also, Gibson ES335-type guitars + blackface Twin = killer blues tone.

But I now see Fender made some lemons too. I guess that's probably true for their guitars as well.

Yep, they made some hokey guitars too, again because of the bean counters at CBS poking their noses into things they didn't understand. Fender's guitars went to pot about the same time as the amps did. Any time (1) your sole motivation is maximum profit margin without regard to quality and usefulness, and (2) you place the design of artisan products in the hands of "white-coated engineers" that cannot comprehend anything but figures on paper, the same thing will always happen.