Home » Audio » Speaker » Hi-Efficiency vs Lo-Efficiency Speakers
Re: Hi-Efficiency vs Lo-Efficiency Speakers [message #17335 is a reply to message #17334] Mon, 10 January 2005 12:18 Go to previous messageGo to previous message
Earl Geddes is currently offline  Earl Geddes
Master
Wayne

I think that Our discussion comes down to what a shorting ring does.

In my understanding, and I have some considerable experience with large loudspeakers companies in this, a shorting ring does two things.

The first is basically what you said, except that it does not just make the flux symmetrical, but stabalizes it, symmetrical or not. A shorting ring, if it had zero resistance, would not allow for any flux that pasess through it to change. Any change in the flux would result in a ring current which would produce exactly the counter flux required to make this change zero. This change is MOSTLY symmetrical, but since the entire flux circuit is nonlinear it also has a non-symmetrical part. All changes - symmetrical or not - are canceled. But shorting rings are not zero resistance, so they cannot do this perfectly. The lower the resistance the better. JBL once used silver. Today we know that a lot of copper works just as well at a much lower cost.