Home » Sponsored » Pi Speakers » Upon further investigation..
Upon further investigation.. [message #63271] Mon, 28 June 2010 20:14 Go to next message
shawnb is currently offline  shawnb
Esquire
I have seen the beautiful 3pi's from audio show.I am no audio expert(actually far from it) but I do love building speakers.I was wondering if I could get the 3pi plans and 3pi subwoofer plans?Maybe I could be a "test dummy".It appears to me the DE250 is padded down to match TD12S(Apollo).Any possibility of maybe having a MTM or TMM type.Sorta 3.5pi.Do you build custom crossovers for something like that or should I bi-amp with electronic crossover?I am thinking MTM (high pass 80hz)with no stands to get to ear level with speakers as high on box away from floor bounce as possible and dual 3pi's on each side next to them.Any opinions?and yes I do like it loud!haha,thanks Shawn
Re: Upon further investigation.. [message #63273 is a reply to message #63271] Mon, 28 June 2010 21:34 Go to previous messageGo to next message
Wayne Parham is currently offline  Wayne Parham
Illuminati (33rd Degree)

I think the MTM idea is definitely doable, but I find that the nulls are well spaced using the matched-directivity two-way approach I employ, so I'm not sure the MTM gives anything extra. The whole point of both approaches is vertical control and we have that at HF by virtue of the horn, and through the crossover region, by virtue of the crossover and driver spacing, with vertical nulls set far apart.