Home » Sponsored » Pi Speakers » Pi Speaker choice - Can they sound like a Klipschorn?
Pi Speaker choice - Can they sound like a Klipschorn? [message #33673] Mon, 13 August 2001 22:36 Go to next message
Super_BQ is currently offline  Super_BQ
Baron
I'm new to pi speaker enclosures. At this website http://www.pispeakers.com/Prices.htm
I've been looking at all the different models.

My question is do ANY of them (or Pi speakers in particular) sound like the Klipsch Klipschorns? I'm not happy with how Klipsch won't be producing new Klipschorns until next year. So it would be great to find an alternative.

I see all those speakers on that website can take HUGE amount of power. The amp I want to use is at my website which is only 25w x 2.

Theater Series seven Pi's are a good comparison [message #33674 is a reply to message #33673] Mon, 13 August 2001 23:51 Go to previous messageGo to next message
Wayne Parham is currently offline  Wayne Parham
Illuminati (33rd Degree)
The models most like the Klipschorns are the cornerhorns, and a valid comparison would be the Theater Series seven Pi's, which use components of similar quality.

If you want a real treat, build yourself a pair of Professional Series seven Pi's. They have JBL pro drivers with advanced motor structures and shorting rings that reduce distortion to very low levels, some 50x lower than drivers without shorting rings.

The Klipschorn is an excellent design, but it just can't match the performance of Professional Series seven Pi's with JBL pro drivers.

Re: What about the thermionic line? [message #33675 is a reply to message #33674] Tue, 14 August 2001 05:04 Go to previous messageGo to next message
Randy Bey is currently offline  Randy Bey
Chancellor
I see that the seven Pi (built by you) runs about $800, if memory serves.

Since I have 300B SET, this is what I would be interested in.

Not too sure I want to sell my Khorns to "audition" a seven Pi though...