Home » Sponsored » Pi Speakers » Horn-Loading a Delta 10
Horn-Loading a Delta 10 [message #43035] Fri, 14 November 2003 22:36 Go to next message
DasDas is currently offline  DasDas
Esquire
I want to build some new boxes for my 4way PA (mid-high), consisting of Delta 10 + 1.4" (altec 299). I already built the Dual 15 which will cover the 80-250hz area. The box I need to build must have the outside dimensions of 36" x 21 1/4" x 30" and 13 3/8" rear width. The horns I have are the Altec MR564 which is a 13x13 horn. I could use some other horn, but for now that's what i have. And that leaves me with roughly 21 inches of total height for the Mid Horn. The HF horn is a 60x40 horn, so the mid horn should be something like that. Is there anything that can be done for the Delta 10, in such space left? I already built the outside box, so all I have left to do is make the mid horn and stick it in there. Can anyone help me, or does anyone have any ideas??
BTW, I have no experience whatsoever using hornresp or designing horns. I have tried using it, but seems kinda complicated. Thanks a lot for your help
Re: Horn-Loading a Delta 10 [message #43037 is a reply to message #43035] Sat, 15 November 2003 00:51 Go to previous messageGo to next message
Mike.e is currently offline  Mike.e
Illuminati (1st Degree)
right click the image now and save it,cos i may have to free up space on my webserver.

You wont get anyone Designing and CADing a horn bin for free
it takes alot of work.

so either-find some one who will for $
or
work it out yourself
or
find an existing flare for it.(not likely)

i can use hornresp,CAD basshorns etc.but thats about it!

what is the exact freq range u want? 250-2k?
usable freq range is up to 3.5k it says.so that isnt a bad factor!

notice that the freq response chart shows a rising response above 1k or so,
also remember hornresp doesnt take into acount actual response up high(theres lots of posts on this in high eff forum too)