Home » Sponsored » Pi Speakers » 12Pi is a 4 ohm speaker?
12Pi is a 4 ohm speaker? [message #59439] Sun, 21 June 2009 09:02 Go to next message
MArz is currently offline  MArz
Esquire

Dear Wayne,
I am a newbie and therefore please excuse the confusion that i am in. Your site mentions the 12Pi subwoofer as being 4 ohms.. But arent you using 2 LAB 12 drivers which are rated at 6 ohms each?? so wouldnt that give a resultant impedance of 3 ohms if they are in parallel and 12 if they are in series???
Also your design is a push pull design .. does this mean that the while one speaker is connected IN phase the other is connected OUT of phase to get the push pull effect???
Also i wanted to build a pair of these to try out for my band so i really would appreciateif you could let me have the plans...V2? if possible pleeesssseee??
I earlier built a pair of the LAb horns but when i use them one per side while i do get copious quantities of BASS i tend to destroy them if i drive them too hard. I had connected the speakers in teh LAB horn in parallel first but after 2 successive blow outs i them connected them in series and now they are fine albeit at lower levels...
you have also mentioned that the Pi 12s are rated at 1600W RMS? Again the LAB 12s are only 400W drivers... is the increased power rating because of teh heat sink device???
Sorry to sound sooo confused but i am...
Awaiting your response eagerly...
Regards
MArz.

Sometimes You gotta say "What The Fuck"!
Re: 12Pi info [message #59441 is a reply to message #59439] Sun, 21 June 2009 09:43 Go to previous messageGo to next message
Wayne Parham is currently offline  Wayne Parham
Illuminati (33rd Degree)

I'll send plans in a separate E-Mail.

The impedance is raised due to horn loading. But impedance isn't a flat line, and you're right, minimum is closer to 3Ω.